Heather Chalfin Receives Monteverde Award and CMWA Scholarship-Department of Biological Sciences - Carnegie Mellon University

Monday, May 11, 2009

Heather Chalfin Receives Monteverde Award and CMWA Scholarship

Dr. J. Paul Fugassi and Linda E. Monteverde Award

Heather Chalfin received the Dr. J. Paul Fugassi and Linda E. Monteverde Award, which is presented to a graduating female senior with the greatest academic achievement and professional promise. Chalfin, a senior biological sciences major with a minor in mathematical sciences, has been successful as an educator, researcher, facilitator, team player and community servant. During her years at Carnegie Mellon, Chalfin has excelled in her coursework, often being the top student in many of her classes. She has been a peer tutor and a mentor to underprivileged youth as an Urban League of Pittsburgh Tutor, a member of the Carnegie Mellon University Emergency Medical Service, and an undergraduate researcher. She will be earning MCS College Research Honors for her work in the lab of Professor Adam Linstedt, where she focused her efforts on understanding the functional roles of the Golgi apparatus. According Assistant Dean Amy Burkert, Chalfin, who will begin medical school at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine this fall, is “a young woman of exceptional talent and drive who is committed to making a difference in the world through science.”

Complete Mellon College of Science Press Release

Amy Pavlak

Carnegie Mellon Women's Association (CMWA) Scholarship

Each year, the Carnegie Mellon Women’s Association presents three $1,000 scholarships to graduating women who have made an impact on the campus community. CMWA members fund the scholarships through membership dues and donations.

“Each winner is chosen by her own dean, department or adviser, because they know the students the best,” said Paula Martin, CMWA president. “The departments are also grateful for the opportunity to acknowledge and award these women because they might not otherwise have the avenue to do so without CMWA’s support.”

This year’s winners are...Heather Chalfin, a biological sciences major with a minor in mathematical sciences, will attend The Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. She has served as the president of the Sandwich Club service organization and has been a member of the Biological Sciences Student Advisory Council, Softball Club and the Emergency Medical Service. She also worked as a teaching assistant, academic counselor and undergraduate researcher as a recipient of Howard Hughes Medical Institute grants. She is an Andrew Carnegie Scholar and member of Mortar Board, Phi Kappa Phi and Phi Beta Kappa.

Complete Article in May 2009 Issue of the Piper (PDF)

Abby Houck