Students Take Home Prizes-School of Architecture - Carnegie Mellon University

Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Students Take Home Prizes

2013 Fourth-Year Design Awardees Announced

Congratulations to the following students who were presented with Fourth-Year Design Awards prior to the Peter Busby lecture on 22 April:

Matthew Adler - John Knox Shear Memorial Traveling Scholarship    $10,000

John Knox Shear, who graduated from Carnegie Institute of Technology, was Professor of Architecture and Head of the Department from 1949 until he resigned in 1955 to accept another position. Following his untimely death in January 1958, members of the department, graduates, and friends set out to establish a memorial to commemorate Professor Shear’s distinguished contributions to architecture and to architectural education and to benefit future architectural students at Carnegie Institute of Technology. The recipient is selected from eligible students based on a review of their work by the faculty. The recipient is expected to use the funds toward travel

Phillip Denny - The Louis F. Valentour A’49 Traveling Scholarship Fund    $9,000

Louis F. Valentour established a generous traveling scholarship for undergraduate students in Architecture who have completed their fourth year of study. The award is intended for travel outside the continental U.S. The amount of the award and the selection of the awarded shall be determined by the faculty and Head of the School of Architecture.

Alexandre Kinney - The Burdett Assistantship    $5,000

The Burdett Fund was established December 10, 1982 in recognition of Bob Burdett’s long and outstanding service to the University and profession. The fund provides support to students pursuing their first professional degrees in Architecture. The support will be offered yearly at the discretion of the School Head who should seek the advise of the faculty to review.

Morgan Stampf & Rohan Rathod - Luther S. Lashmit Traveling Award    $6,000 ($3,000 each)

The Luther S. Lashmit Award is given annually to a fourth year student for the purpose of travel. Luther Lasmit graduated from the Carnegie Institute of Technology Graduate Program in Architecture in 1921. He returned to the University community from 1923-27 as an Assistant Professor. He spent the remainder of his career in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. Lashmit had the opportunity to study in France early in his career when he won a traveling scholarship. This experience, he later noted, dramatically changed his perception and vision of architecture. Through his generous gift to Carnegie Mellon and the School of Architecture, he gives a student with exceptional design skills the same opportunity.

The Fourth-Year Design Awards are presented annually by the School of Architecture to give Fourth-Year students the opportunity to enhance their academic experience and display their work to faculty, peers, and the public at large. This year, the awards competition will be displayed in MMCH 403 beginning Monday, 08 April and will conclude with the Henry Hornbostel Lecture on Monday, 22 April.

Selected students must carry a minimum 3.0 QPA in both design studio and overall performance. 

2013 participants are Matthew Adler, Phillip Denny, Alex Fischer, Jae Han Bae, Alexandre Kinney, Adam Lans, Ying Lin, Michael Lynes, Abigail Mitchell, Sandy Polk, Rohan Rathod, Paulina Reyes, Yuriy Sountsov, Morgan Stampf and Erica Tong.