Wind Ensemble and Collage Concert-School of Architecture - Carnegie Mellon University

Friday, January 29, 2010

Wind Ensemble and Collage Concert

CMU President Jared Cohon will be among the performers in a percussion ensemble piece

Carnegie Mellon Wind Ensemble – 8 February

The Wind Ensemble's upcoming program features a world premiere transcription of CMU professor and composer Marilyn Taft Thomas' Snapshots of a Great City (2008). It's a fitting piece to be performed in the historic College of Fine Arts, which looks out over the Carnegie Mellon campus, Pitt's Cathedral of Learning and the city's bustling Oakland corridor.

The concert, which is free and open to the public, begins at 8 p.m. Monday, February 8 in Kresge Theatre. Director Denis Colwell will lead the ensemble in a program of works that also includes Gordon's Old Wine in New Bottles, Stravinsky's Symphonies of Wind Instruments, and Rorem's Sinfonia. Student conductor Kimberly Price will lead the ensemble in Strauss' Serenade, Op. 7.

Chamber Orchestra Concert – 10 February

Ronald Zollman, music director
8 p.m. Carnegie Music Hall, Oakland
Performing works by Haydn and Bartok; free and open to the public!

A Musical Tour de Force: The Second Annual Collage Concert – 12 February

Join the School of Music on a 90-minute nonstop journey of theatrical lighting, music and performance spanning six genres Hundreds of performers will take to the stages, aisles, and balcony in the second annual Collage Concert at 8 p.m. Friday, February 12 in Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Hall. Yes, we said stages: two auxiliary stages will be constructed over part of the lower audience level for additional performance space. This whirlwind event will be unlike any concert you have ever experienced! Collage will feature all of the School's ensembles, including baroque, classical, contemporary, vocal, jazz and musical theater showtunes. Featuring world-class stage direction by Gregory Lehane, professor of drama, musicians will be moving seamlessly, appearing and disappearing from various positions around the hall.

CMU President Jared Cohon will be among the performers in a percussion ensemble piece by Steve Reich that requires no instruments - just clapping. The closing piece, "Climb Ev'ry Mountain" from The Sound of Music will feature vocalists converging on stage in a visually spectacular finale.

Selected School of Music faculty members will serve as soloists, including Cyrus Forough, Professor of Violin; Enrique Graf, Artist Lecturer in Piano; PSO Principal Clarinet Michael Rusinek, Artist Lecturer, and Laura Knoop Very, Assistant Professor of Voice.

Tickets are available online (click on Box Office) and cost $15 general admission, $12 for seniors and $10 for students.

Contemporary Ensemble Concert – 13 February

Ronald Zollman, music director
5 p.m. Alumni Concert Hall
Performing works by composers of the 20th and 21st centuries; free and open to the public!

By: Kristi Ries, M.A.M. Communications Manager Carnegie Mellon School of Music