a/e ProNet David W. Lakamp AIA Scholarship-School of Architecture - Carnegie Mellon University

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

a/e ProNet David W. Lakamp AIA Scholarship

Application Deadline is Monday, November 19, 2012

The a/e ProNet scholarship was initiated in 1990 by a/e ProNet, a group of insurance professionals providing risk management services to architects and engineers. In 1999 the scholarship was renamed for David W. Lakamp. Mr. Lakamp was a founder of a/e ProNet and a trusted advisor to the profession. He left behind a legacy of professionalism and integrity that set new standards in the field of insurance services. Two students, who best demonstrate strong interest in practice management, will each receive a $2500 award.  

The scholarship is open to fourth year undergraduates and graduate students of architecture enrolled in a NAAB- accredited professional degree program. Submissions are reviewed by jury panel that consists members of the AIA Practice Management Knowledge Community (PMKC) and the a/e ProNet organization. Candidates must submit a copy of their transcripts, two letters of recommendation, and an essay on how they would resolve a project management dilemma.  


Eligible Applicants are:

  • Fourth year students in an NAAB accredited degree program, 
  • or Fourth year students of a four-year pre-professional degree program in architecture accepted for direct entry to a two-year NAAB MArch/DArch program, or 
  • First year students in an NAAB MArch/DArch degree program for students with undergraduate degrees in another discipline  


The 2012 a/e ProNet David W. Lakamp Scholarship application is now available.

The application deadline is Monday, November 19, 2012.


Two students will receive a $2500 award each. The scholarships will go toward the student’s tuition and university fees. The award check will be mailed directly to the university; it may not be deferred for use later or transferred to another individual.  

Contact Questions? Please send inquiries to: scholarships@aia.org