2012 University Education Awards-School of Architecture - Carnegie Mellon University

Monday, October 24, 2011

2012 University Education Awards

Deadline for Nominations: Monday, 07 November

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2012 University Education Awards listed below. These awards are given to recognize the accomplishments of faculty who exemplify the university’s standards of excellence in education.  We have consolidated the award nomination process this year to try to simplify things for the nominating teams.
Based on our current rotating award cycle, nominations are being requested for the following awards:
· Robert E. Doherty Award
Recognizing contributions to the development, implementation and evaluation of education programs at all levels, and to the creation and maintenance of an environment that fosters excellence in education.
· William H. and Frances S. Ryan Award
Recognizing excellence in teaching undergraduate and graduate students.
· The Mark Gelfand Award for Educational Outreach
Recognizing sustained, effective community service with academic coursework and a deliberate process of student reflection to enhance the learning experience, teach social responsibility, and improve some aspect of life in the community, with special consideration given to individuals who focus on educational outreach to younger populations.
· The Barbara Lazarus Award for Graduate Student and Junior Faculty Mentoring
Recognizing exemplary contributions to fostering a welcoming and nurturing environment for graduate students and junior faculty.
View complete details [Link]
Nominations may be made by any group of at least three persons, each of whom is a current or retired faculty or staff member, or a current or former full-time undergraduate or graduate student. 
All nominations must be submitted by Monday, November 7, 2011.
The awards will be presented at the annual Celebration of Education event scheduled for Wednesday, April 25, 2012.  In addition, the most recent recipients of the College Teaching Awards, the Graduate Student Service Award, and the Graduate Student Teaching Award will be recognized at the event.