Carnegie Mellon Press Releases

Back to Press Releases

Carnegie Mellon News Service Home Page

Carnegie Mellon Today

8 1/2 x 11 News

News Clips

Web News Stories

Calendar of Events

Press Release

Teresa S. Thomas

For immediate release:
October 19, 2005

Carnegie Mellon Alumni Awards on October 28 Celebrate Centennial Year for College of Fine Arts

PITTSBURGH—Carnegie Mellon University will honor more than a dozen individuals with alumni awards for merit and service on October 28, part of Homecoming weekend on campus. Alumni representing all five schools of the College of Fine Arts, which is celebrating its 100th anniversary during the 2005-2006 academic year, will be among the honorees. Awards to be presented at the Friday evening ceremony include:

  • Distinguished Achievement, Barry Frank (A '54). A 1954 drama graduate, Barry Frank is known as "the man of multi-sports" at the television sports management firm Trans World International. A former president of CBS Sports, he represents such luminaries as Bob Costas and John Madden and his sales of television rights exceed $1 billion.

  • Distinguished Achievement, Robert Summer (PM '55). Executive chairman of iMesh, a peer-to-peer (P2P) online music service that provides digital entertainment content to consumers, Robert Summer is the former president of Sony Music International and RCA Records and a former chairman of the Recording Industry Association of America.

  • Distinguished Achievement, Robert Krieger (CIT '64, '66, '68). President of Boeing Phantom Works, Robert Krieger leads the development of critical military technologies designed to reduce the time and cost, especially in human life, of resolving conflicts.

  • Distinguished Service, John Fisher (A '58, '61). An international expert on the design of performance spaces and housing, architect John Fisher has designed more than 100 theaters, including the Chosky Theater in Carnegie Mellon's Purnell Center for the Arts.

  • Honorary Alumna, Mindy Kanaskie. A former assistant in the School of Drama, Mindy Kanaskie is now a Los Angeles television producer for such shows as "ER" and "The West Wing" and has helped numerous young drama graduates transition into the entertainment industry.

  • Alumni Merit, Harold Hambrose (A '89). Founder, chairman and chief executive officer of Philadelphia-based Electronic Ink, Harold Hambrose is a pioneer in the design of functional and intuitive user interfaces for computer programs.

  • Alumni Merit, Joyce Kozloff (A '64). Artist Joyce Kozloff is well known for her design of art installations for public transportation facilities. Her work is included in the nation's most prestigious museums and she has written widely on issues of feminism and the arts.

  • Alumni Merit, Bernard Meisner (MCS '71). Meteorologist Bernard Meisner, a former Pittsburgh Public Schools teacher, manages critical weather forecasting as head of scientific services in the Southern Region Headquarters of the National Weather Service.

  • Alumni Merit, Julius Vida (MCS '60, '61). Julius Vida is an international pharmaceutical consultant. Nearly 40 percent of Bristol-Myers Squibb's 2003 sales, medicines for such diseases as breast cancer and AIDS, were directly attributable to his "masterful blending of science, medicine and business."

  • Alumni Merit, Drew Perkins (CIT '86). A pioneer in the development of Internet technologies and networking standards, Drew Perkins authored the Point-to-Point Protocol (PPP), which is utilized every time a user connects to the Internet.

  • Alumni Merit, Morley Stone (MCS '97). As principal research biologist with the United States Air Force Research Laboratory, Morley Stone guides biology and engineering projects in biomimetics, materials science and micro- and nano-electromechanical devices.

To receive Alumni Service Awards are: attorney and diversity advocate Marco Delgado (HNZ '90), attorney and engineer Ronald Frank (CIT '69), television literary agent Janet Carol Norton (A '92, '96), and singer Erin Quill (A '92). Young Alumni Awards will be presented to filmmaker Greg Marcks (HSS '98), who was awarded a Student Academy Award by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences, and architect Melissa Sarko (A '97).

Celebrating 100 years of fine arts education, the College of Fine Arts is a community of nationally and internationally recognized artists and professionals organized into five schools: Architecture, Art, Design, Drama and Music, as well as their associated centers and programs. Over the decades the College of Fine Arts has produced such well-known artists as Andy Warhol and Mel Bochner, actors Ted Danson and Holly Hunter, writer-producers Stephen Bochco and John Wells, and conductor Keith Lockhart.

For more information about the Alumni Award winners and Homecoming events, visit


Other Carnegie Mellon News || Carnegie Mellon Home