Carnegie Mellon Press Releases

Back to Press Releases

Carnegie Mellon News Service Home Page

Carnegie Mellon Today

8 1/2 x 11 News

News Clips

Web News Stories

Calendar of Events

Press Release

Jonathan Potts

For immediate release:
November 18, 2004

Not One But Two Carnegie Mellon Writers Receive National Endowment for the Arts Fellowships

PITTSBURGH—The National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) has awarded Creative Writing Fellowships to two Carnegie Mellon University professors, the second time that the university has enjoyed this double honor. Jim Daniels, the Thomas Stockham Baker Professor of English, and Terrance Hayes, an associate professor of creative writing, received fellowships for poetry.

The NEA rarely awards fellowships to two writers from the same university in the same year, but it also happened to Carnegie Mellon in 2000, when Jane Bernstein and Sharon Dilworth both received fellowships. The fellowships carry with them a $20,000 award.

"For this to happen in our program twice in such a short period of time is really an amazing thing for us to be proud of," said Daniels, who is the director of the Creative Writing Program.

Jim Daniels
Daniels, who has been at Carnegie Mellon since 1981, has been the director of the Creative Writing Program—one of the nation's few such programs exclusively for undergraduates—for the past 10 years. He is the author of eight poetry collections and two collections of short stories. A story from "No Pets," his first fiction collection, was made into a motion picture, for which Daniels wrote the screenplay. He previously received an NEA fellowship in 1985. Daniels is the winner of the Pushcart Prize and the Brittingham Prize, and a Pennsylvania Council for the Arts Fellowship.

Terrance Hayes
Hayes is the author of two poetry collections, "Hip Logic" and "Muscular Music," which earned him the Whiting Writers Award and the Kate Tufts Discovery Award. "Hip Logic" was a National Poetry Series Winner and a finalist for both the Los Angeles Times Book Award and James Laughlin Award from the Academy of American Poets. He also received a 2004 Pushcart Prize for one of the poems in "Wind in a Box," his collection forthcoming from Penguin in 2006. He has been at Carnegie Mellon since 2001.


Other Carnegie Mellon News || Carnegie Mellon Home