Carnegie Mellon Press Releases

Back to Press Releases

Carnegie Mellon News Service Home Page

Carnegie Mellon Today

8 1/2 x 11 News

News Clips

Web News Stories

Calendar of Events

Press Release

Chriss Swaney

For immediate release:
October 7, 2004

Carnegie Mellon Announces Finalists for Prestigious 2004 CyLab Cybersecurity Journalism Awards

PITTSBURGH—Carnegie Mellon University's CyLab will host eight finalists at the 2004 Cybersecurity Journalism Awards program Oct. 12, 2004, at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C.

The awards, featuring print, broadcast, online and trade media were developed to recognize writers, editors and producers who have done the most to educate the public by giving readers and viewers a better understanding of America's ongoing battle to protect cyberspace and preserve our national security.

This year's award finalists include Larry Abramson of National Public Radio, Scott Berinato of CSO Magazine, Brock N. Meeks of MSNBC, Brian Krebs of the, Jonathan Krim of the Washington Post, John Schwartz of The New York Times, Ted Bridis of the Associated Press and the staff of eWeek Magazine.

"We are extremely pleased to recognize the outstanding media nominated for these honors by our distinguished panel of judges," said Pradeep Khosla, dean of Carnegie Mellon's College of Engineering and co-director of CyLab, a bold, visionary effort aimed at creating new technologies for measurable, available, secure, trustworthy and sustainable computing.

"Through awareness and education, Carnegie Mellon CyLab is promoting safe and responsible computer use through programs like our 2004 Cybersecurity Journalism Awards event," said Dena Haritos Tsamitis, head of CyLab education and outreach and director of the Information Networking Institute.

The panel of judges, chaired by Susan Bennett, a veteran editor and reporter covering foreign affairs for more than 24 years and director of international exhibits at the Newseum, included Carla Robbins, foreign editor of the Wall Street Journal; Carol Giacomo, diplomatic correspondent of Reuters; Ralph Begleiter, a former CNN world affairs correspondent and journalist-in-residence at the University of Delaware; and Roberta Baskin, senior producer and correspondent with Bill Moyers and former producer for ABC's 20/20.

Bob Orr, CBS aviation and transportation correspondent, will be the event's keynote speaker. Since the 9/11 attacks, Orr has covered homeland security, with an emphasis on aviation and terrorism.

Carnegie Mellon CyLab, the Information Networking Institute, the education arm of CyLab, and the Newseum, the world's first interactive museum of news, sponsor the awards.


Other Carnegie Mellon News || Carnegie Mellon Home