Carnegie Mellon Press Releases

Back to Press Releases

Carnegie Mellon News Service Home Page

Carnegie Mellon Today

8 1/2 x 11 News

News Clips

Web News Stories

Calendar of Events

Press Release

Eric C. Sloss

For immediate release:
July 9, 2004

Carnegie Mellon School of Music Hosts In Residence The Pittsburgh Symphony Chamber Orchestra

PSCO to perform at Carnegie Mellon's Kresge Recital Hall and the Jewish Community Center July 22-24

PITTSBURGH — Under the direction of conductor Andrés Cárdenes, the Dorothy and Richard Starling and Alexander C. Speyer Professor of Music at Carnegie Mellon, the Pittsburgh Symphony Chamber Orchestra will perform two concerts at Carnegie Mellon's Kresge Recital Hall and the Jewish Community Center, Squirrel Hill, July 22-24. The Pittsburgh Symphony Chamber Orchestra will be in residence at Carnegie Mellon.

Two of the concerts will take place at Carnegie Mellon University at Kresge Recital Hall in the College of Fine Arts. The first concert will be on Thursday, July 22, at 7:30 p.m. The concert, consisting entirely of Mozart pieces, will feature conductor Andrés Cárdenes on viola with Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra violinist Christopher Wu in Mozart's "Sinfonia Concertante."

The second of the Carnegie Mellon concerts will take place on Friday, July 23, at 8:00 p.m. The final portion of this three-piece concert will include Antonio Vivaldi's "The Four Seasons." Tickets for the Carnegie Mellon concerts are $15 for the general public and $10 for students and Carnegie Mellon affiliates.

The concerts will be of special significance to the Carnegie Mellon community because they will include Carnegie Mellon faculty members who are also members of the PSO. These members include Andrés Cárdenes, Isaias Zelkowicz, David Premo, Jeffrey Turner, Cynthia Koldo DeAlmeida, Scott Bell, Michael Rusinek and Nancy Goeres.

The third installment of this concert series will be held at The Katz Performing Arts Center, Jewish Community Center, Squirrel Hill. This Saturday, July 24 concert will feature George Gershwin's "Lullaby" and Antonio Vivaldi's "The Four Seasons." The concert begins at 8:00 p.m. Ticket prices are $15 adult and $10 for students.

For more information about this concert series, visit For tickets call 412-268-2383.


Other Carnegie Mellon News || Carnegie Mellon Home