Carnegie Mellon Press Releases

Current Press Releases

Media Relations and Marketing Communications Home

Carnegie Mellon News Service Home Page

Carnegie Mellon Today

8 1/2 x 11 News

News Clips

Web News Stories

Calendar of Events

Press Release

Contact: Anne Watzman, Carnegie Mellon
(412) 268-3830

Contact: Tom Garritano, National Science Foundation
(703) 292-8070

For immediate release:
September 25, 2001

Carnegie Mellon Researchers Receive
More Than $24 Million In Grants from National Science Foundation's ITR Initiative

PITTSBURGH–The National Science Foundation has awarded faculty in Carnegie Mellon University's School of Computer Science more than $24 million in grants from its Information Technology Research (ITR) initiative.

The 14 awards, announced by NSF director Rita Colwell Sept. 25, are part of a $156 million program established to maintain U S. leadership in computer science and its applications, and to promote fundamental research and innovative uses of information technology (IT) in science and engineering.

One of the largest awards totaling more than $5.6 million was made to Guy Blelloch, Daniel Sleator, Ravi Ramamoorthi and Manuel, Avrim and Lenore Blum, who submitted a proposal titled "ALADDIN: A Center for Algorithm Adaption, Dissemination and Integration."

Other projects of more than $1 million that have been funded include:

  • $1 million for "Verification Tools for Autonomous and Embedded Systems" to Edmund Clarke, Randy Bryant, Jeannette Wing, Reid Simmons, David Garlan and Bruce Krogh.
  • $1.7 million for "Language Technology for Trustless Software Dissemination" to Karl Crary, Robert Harper, Peter Lee and Frank Pfenning.
  • $1.050 million for "Situationally Appropriate Interaction" to Scott Hudson, Chris Atkeson and Jie Yang.
  • $1.2 million for "Augmented Cognition: Combining Human and Digital Memory," to Randy Pausch.
  • $1.2 million for "Foundations of Electronic Marketplaces: Game Theory, Algorithms and Systems" to Tuomas Sandholm and Avrim Blum.
  • $3.4 million to Andrew Moore, Jeff Schneider, Robert Nichol, Larry Wasserman and Chris Genovese for "Statistical Data Mining for Cosmology TTA: Information Management."
  • $3.2 million to Sara Kiesler, Jodi Forlizzi and Sebastian Thrun for "Cognitive and Social Design of Robotic Assistants."
  • $2.5 million to Jaime Carbonell, Lori Levin, Alon Lavie and Alex Waibel for "Avenue: Adaptable Voice Translation for Minority Languages."
  • $2 million to Howard Wactlar, Michael Christel, Alex Hauptmann and Takeo Kanade for "Capturing, Coordinating and Remembering Human Experience.

  • All of these awards will be made over five years with the exception of the grant to Clarke, Bryant, et al, which will be made over three years.
    Four other projects totaling less than $1 million have been funded as well. They include:
  • $394,000 to Vincent Aleven and Ken Koedinger for "Tutoring Explanation and Discovery Learning: Achieving Deep Understanding through Tutorial Dialog."
  • $420,000 to David Garlan for work on "Compositional Connectors."
  • $500,000 to Raj Reddy and Gloriana St. Clair for "The Million Book Project."
  • $424,000 for "Course Capsules: Persistent, Personalized Courseware" to Klaus Sutner, Michael Kohlhase, Peter Lee, Dana Scott and Joel Smith.

All of these awards will be made over three years except for the Million Book Project, which is being funded with a one-year grant.

More information on the NSF ITR grants can be found at


-Back to the top-

Other Carnegie Mellon News || Carnegie Mellon Home